The Development Sandbox

Computer Science

Although I’m still new to the web development scene, there is no excuse for relying on a remote server anymore to develop applications. I still envision myself as that wide-eyed newbie who needs their hand held all the way through the process of installing server software; though I’m not especially new to Linux, nor am I a guru by any stretch, navigating with the command line has become second nature to me.

That said, Apache is… interesting. It’s secure, it’s versatile, and it’s confusing as hell. After scouring Google, I found a blog post on how to install a LAMP server on my netbook—under-powered as it is. The article is dated, but it still allowed me to mostly set up the server. No more website down-time when I need to test a new theme for WordPress, no more development issues with Drupal. The best part of it all is that I can work anytime, from anywhere, regardless of my internet connection or third party server maintenance schedules.

This sandbox does a lot for a new user, with little difficulty in setting it up. Even after spending 16+ years as a Windows user*, it doesn’t take an expert to install a LAMP server in Ubuntu. In fact Drupal core is more confusing to set up, which is good news for developers looking for a DIY development kit!

  • Even through Windows 3.x when one had to reboot the computer into different profiles, depending on what programs needed to be opened, I used Windows. Thank God for Chip’s Challenge!
