Linux Adobe (via VirtualBox)

Computer Science

In a previous post, I discussed the strides FOSS (Free Open Source Software) had to go for it to truly be an open source alternative, specifically to the Adobe products. This leads to my next rant on how to flawlessly run Adobe products on Linux. I recently read a guide on how to seamlessly integrate Windows applications into Ubuntu using Oracle’s VirtualBox. The source (below) is outdated and may not have completely relevant information to the current version of Ubuntu, but it still begs the question: Will this be the way I get rid of Windows?

VirtualBox Logo

VIrtualBox Logo

In a previous post, I showed how to set up Sun’s VirtualBox in Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid. Then, I went through setting up a PCLinuxOS virtual machine in VirtualBox, followed up with how to install Guest Additions in that virtual machine. However, many folks probably want to run a Windows guest under Linux, so this post will run through that procedure. You’ll find it remarkably similar to the PCLinuxOS example, though the Guest Additions install somewh … Read More

I know that this won’t actually be ridding Linux of the poison that is the Microsoft Windows franchise, but it does allow me the added security that comes with running Linux. Allow me to illustrate:

Try permanently leaving a window open in one of the rooms of your house (it’ll be an art studio for this example). Even though it’s a high-crime area and you may get robbed, you have a secure place with all of the doors dead-bolted. You only leave this one window open to ventilate the room because air circulation is required to create the art you need. Is there a chance your supplies will get stolen? You bet there is! That’s why you don’t put anything too important in that room.

Believe it or not, this is the same situation as running a Windows virtual machine (VM) in a Linux environment. If someone hacks into my Windows VM, oh well! I’ll reload it and the person will get no important information from me. The limit to this metaphor is that the robbers may graffiti everything in the hypothetical room (install viruses on the Windows installation), but you can always hit the proverbial reset button and the room goes back to the way it was a month ago. In real life it’s not that easy, but with VMs the process is as easy as rolling back to an old saved state.

