“Grad School” Means What Again?

Psychology

Recently, I’ve been reading more about the average income of a U.S. psychologist with only a bachelor’s degree. Sure, the money is decent, but is this what I really want? Answer: yes. I’ve never been a school-person in my life. Sure I’ve performed formidably on every standardized test I’ve come across, and I’ve “psyched-out” many of the personality tests I’ve taken (Meyer-Briggs anyone?), but I’m just too ansy to get into the workforce.

Staying with a B.S. in psychology seems more plausible by the minute. I did some research for my Orientation to Psychology class and it seems like jobs with a bachelor’s degree are both plentiful and interesting. They’re my kind of work including optimization of organizations and the way they function, giving workers more freedom in convincing corporate executives that keeping the masses happy is in their best interests, and so much more.

We haven’t gotten into studying exactly what kinds of careers are involved with the average Ph.D. in psychology, but I’m sure it will be eye-opening.

